Energy efficiency

It is an acknowledged fact that often a great part of energy, used for house heating, is wasted inexpediently. We pay enormous heating bills because we heat not only our house, but also the surrounding environment – badly insulated buildings constantly cause thermal energy losses. It is, certainly, possible to improve the building’s protection by using different heat insulation materials – rock wool etc. However, you can also choose timber frame house, which is naturally tended to energy efficiency due to its material (the wood has low thermal conductivity).

Wood is never cold when you touch it – this is because wood preserves heat and does not allow its outflow. Wooden premises demonstrate another valuable characteristic – timber walls spread out the heat evenly along the premise avoiding other materials inside the rooms as it often happens, when the temperature becomes too high closer to the source of heat, while the opposite corner of the room becomes already chilly.

Timber frame houses save at least 1/3 from your heating expenses

Specialists have calculated so called U-value for different types of buildings. U-value characterizes building’s heat endurance – it shows the amount of thermal energy (in watts) running through one square meter of a material, when the temperature difference between the both sides of the material is 1 Kelvin degree. The U-value of timber frame houses is lower than of buildings from other materials, which means, that, to preserve warmth, they need less heat supply, and that becomes apparent in heating bills. Less consumption of thermal energy means not only your personal benefit by paying less for heat, but also your contribution to climate and planet’s ecosystem protection - timber framed house emits half less CO2 or so called „greenhouse gas” fumes in the environment. This is why timber frame houses are often called „green” and environmentally friendly. It is possible to reach even more impressive economy of thermal energy in so called eco or „passive” wooden houses. Some mass media publications and TV broadcasts maintain that it is possible to heat such houses in winter only by a candle, and this statement is not a science fiction but reality. However, the construction of such houses differs and the expenses are higher than those of traditional timber frame houses. Nevertheless, the further economy on heating bills is also more considerable.

In 2003 Bill Quigley carried out a research (Bill Quigley, "The Comparison of energy use and comfort conditions in Timber Frame and Traditional Block Houses"), where he compared the consumption of thermal energy of 3 timber frame houses and 3 conventional block houses. The main finding of the research – the timber frame houses preserved a higher average temperature using less energy and for correspondingly less expenses than in the case with conventional block houses. To raise the temperature for 1 degree (by Celsius), timber frame houses used for 44% less energy than block houses. As a result, the heating expenses of the timber frame houses were on 32% lower than of block houses.

Энергоэффективность

Не секрет, что большая часть энергии, используемой на отопление жилых зданий, расходуется нецелесообразно. Мы оплачиваем огромные счета за отопление, потому что отапливаем не только свой дом, но также и всю окружающую среду - плохо изолированные здания постоянно пропускают тепловую энергию наружу. Можно, конечно, улучшить энергоэффективность таких зданий, используя всевозможные теплоизоляционные материалы – каменная вата и др.. А можно просто выбрать каркасный дом, который благодаря используемому материалу (дерево - плохой теплопроводник) уже естественно склонен к экономии энергии.

Прикасаясь к дереву, никогда не почувствуешь холод - это потому, что дерево сохраняет в себе тепло и не позволяет ему испариться. Деревянным помещениям присуще еще одно ценное свойство –деревянные стены рассеивают тепло равномерно по всему помещению, в противоположность помещениям из другого материала, когда вблизи источника тепла температура слишком высока, а в другом углу комнаты уже становится довольно прохладно.

Каркасные дома экономят по крайней мере 1/3 от затрат на отопление

Специалисты вычислили, так называемую величину, U для зданий разных типов. Величина U характеризует теплостойкость здания. Она показывает, какое количество тепловой энергии (в ваттах) проходит сквозь один квадратный метр материала при отличии температур на обеих половинах материала в 1 градус Кельвина. У каркасных домов величина U ниже, чем у зданий из других материалов, а это значит, что для удержания тепла им требуется меньшее количество энергии, и это ощутимо отразится на счетах за отопление. Меньшее потребление тепловой энергии означает не только Вашу личную выгоду, ввиде меньших выплат за отопление, но также и Ваш вклад в спасение экосистемы нашей планеты – каркасный дом выделяет в окружающую среду почти в два раза меньше CO2 или так называемых выбросов «тепличных газов». Именно поэтому каркасные дома называют «зелеными» и дружелюбными для окружающей среды. Еще более внушительное сбережение тепловой энергии можно достичь в так называемых эко- или «пассивных» деревянных домах. Часто встречающиеся в последнее время описания и сюжеты о том, что в зимнее время для обогрева такого дома необходима едва ли не свеча. Это никакая не научная фантастика, а реальность. Правда, затраты на строительство таких домов – существенно выше, чем в случае обычных каркасных домов, но и экономия на счетах за отопления в будущем соответственно тоже намного больше.

Бил Квайджли в 2003 году провел исследование (Bill Quigley, "The Comparison of energy use and comfort conditions in Timber Frame and Traditional Block Houses"), в котором сравнил потребление теплоэнергии в 3 каркасных домах и 3 традиционных панельных домах. Главный вывод исследования – каркасные дома сохраняли и удерживали более высокую среднюю температуру, притом используя меньше энергии и соответственно за меньшую стоимость, чем традиционные панельные дома. Для повышения температуры в каркасных домах на 1 градус (Цельсия) было необходимо на 44 % меньше энергии, чем в панельных домах. Наряду с этим в каркасных домах затраты на отопление получились на 32 % меньше, чем в панельных домах.